Global Mapper v25.0

How to convert / reproject MGI map to WGS84?

Hi everyone. Thx for letting me in.

I have some image map, which I have converted into a real map using a tool (OkMap) (Later on,Im using orux to convert into orux map for mobile phone) My map is MGI Balkzan Zone 7, and when I simply get coordinates from it and put in google maps, they are not showing the same position.
So, I want to convert that map into WGS84.

It is my first time working with maps, so sorry for potentially using wrong names. I guess this is calling - to reproject a map.
If anyone could help me, thank you

Answers

• Assuming all your data is loaded with the correct coordinate system, you just need to switch your projection from MGI Balkzan Zone 7 to Geographic (Latitude/Longitude).

1. Click on Configure (Spanner)
    2. Projection
    3. Choose Geographic (Latitude/Longitude) for the Projection
    4. Choose WGS84 for the Datum
    5. Choose ARC DEGREES for the Planar Units
  • Thank you so much for answering and trying to help.
    Im sorry, as I said, im pretty new to this.

I have loaded in GM a geoTiff file with MGI projection. Converted it as you said. But only what I saw is that the image is a bit stretched now.
    I exported again in GeoTiff format and now, when I from OKMap try to get coordinates still i have the same issue - on google maps, it shows the point like few meters on right side more that should (200-300m)
  • WGS84 data does look quite stretched so this is normal. Can you share your data?
  • What data exactly you mean?  :)
  • Geographic Coordinate Systems e.g. Geographic (Latitude/Longitude); can appear to look stretched/distorted when displayed in GIS software compared to Projected Coordinate Systems e.g. MGI 1901 Balkans Zone 7; which uses the Transverse Mercator Projection.

The data I am referring to is your map. If you can share it (zip it up and attach) we can see what the problem is. If you can't that's fine.