Global Mapper v25.0

Combine terrain - coloring based on change

Hello, 

I'm fairly new to Global Mapper, I've been working on self-training for a couple of weeks, I've watched literally every tutorial on their YouTube channel for LiDAR processing (awesome videos by the way!)

I'm working with the "compare/combine terrain" feature. I'm wanting to do something I used to be able to do years ago when I worked with the Maptek I-Site Studio software, which was creation of a terrain/surface which is colored based on the changes between the surfaces being combined. 

I think I'd need to use either the addition, or subtraction function. I successfully created a new terrain based on change using subtraction, that is working OK, but I'd like to create the combined surface that is colored by change, similar to this screenshot I included. Basically say one TIN surface is a one color, and another is different color, when they are combined, they maintain their colors so you can see the change. Not just a new terrain that is elevated or colored based on the change. Not sure how to better explain it! The picture should, lol. That screenshot is old and from Maptek software. I'm just tinkering around with some scans of a stockpile in GM, I cropped off the top of the pile, created two terrains, one of all the points, one with the cropped top, and doing some terrain comparisons trying to get the top of the resulting terrain file to show the Atlas shader or a solid color, but the points on top of the pile are a different color range, 

I think this better visualizes the change over time through various laser scans of this area. They are just TIN surfacesI tried tinkering with creating custom shaders and shading each terrain differently, then creating the combined terrain but it just wants to use one shader. 

Not sure if I am even close to figuring this out, or it is not possible, or whatever. Any help is appreciated. 

Answers

• Hi,