Global Mapper v25.0

Building a shapefile as a raster tileindex in GMS (gdaltileindex from GDAL)

RobertR
RobertR GlobalMapper Fan!Trusted User
edited March 2013 in GM Script Language
I would like to use the GM Scripting Language to build a shapefile as a raster tileindex;

Currently, I am using gdaltileindex to do this, and it runs like this in Linux:

synopsis: gdaltindex [-tileindex field_name] [-write_absolute_path] [-skip_different_projection] [-t_srs target_srs] index_file [gdal_file]*

example: gdaltindex /me/maps/data/tiles.shp /me/maps/data/final/*.tif;

Is it possible to do this using GMS? I would like to transfer the entire project in the GM script..I managed to do all except this one. I am kinda new with GM Scripting so bear with me a bit.

Many thanks for the support!

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited March 2013
    If you use the GENERATE_LAYER_BOUNDS (http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/knowledgebase/global-mapper/ScriptReference.html#cmd_generate_layer_bounds) script command you can create bounding areas for any loaded raster layers, then use EXPORT_VECTOR to export that out to a file.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
  • RobertR
    RobertR GlobalMapper Fan! Trusted User
    edited March 2013
    Hello Mike, that's almost good, but what if I have 30.000 raster files and I want to create the tile index for all? In batch, by using gdal, I do not need to load all of them, it would surely cause problems to load such an amount of raster files.
  • RobertR
    edited March 2013
    Update. I think that loading so many tiff files will be an issue and I encounter the same problem. I would like to keep only one or two columns in the resulted shapefile, the attribute that contains the full path adn maybe the EPSG code.