Global Mapper v25.0

Creating a smooth flatten area

dba
dba Global Mapper User
edited October 2013 in Elevation Data
hi all,

I'm a flightsim developer and I often use DEM data to create elevation models. In flightsim runways are always flat, so whith sloped terrain there's always a problem at the beginning or end of the runway, a platform appears sometimes very important !

it's possible to use 3D polygons to fill and smooth the missing terrain, but it's very difficult and long to do it. A better solution should be to edit the elevation data all around the runway so that the terrain comes very smoothly to its natural elevation about 1km far. I saw a flatten function in GM9 but I don't know if there's an automatic elevation smoothing all around it ?

could somebody help me ?

thank you for this wonderfull GM9 software :-)

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited October 2007
    You could use the feather blending option for elevation layers in GM9 to do what you want. First load your underlying terrain layer, then create a terrain layer that is flat with the elevation for the entire layer set to the runway elevation. Then, use the Digitizer Tool to draw an area feature that is parallel to the runway, but expanded out to your maximum desired blend distance. Then, select that area, open the Overlay Control Center, select the runway terrain layer, press Options, then go to the Feathering tab and select to feather to the selected polygon and press Apply to see the blending effect. You'll want to mess with the blend pixel range to get the desired blending effect to go to the edge of the runway (or you could create another layer with just the runway flattened out on top of the feather-blended layer).

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • joeysipos
    joeysipos Global Mapper User
    edited May 2008
    Mike,