Global Mapper v25.0

Import non projected data (mesh or heightfield)

Tib
Tib Global Mapper User
edited August 2012 in Projection Questions
Hello,

I'm trying to compare a mesh's elevation data (OBJ file) with DEM data (BIL file).

First I create a heightfield from the mesh by sampling the mesh's height values regularly along a 2D grid (in my application I cast vertical rays from above the mesh).

This gives me a heightfield which is not projected, for example a 60m x 60m regular grid of height values.

What I'd like to do is:

- Geoposition this heightfield (center it at a specified lat/lon)
- Compare it with a real DEM (BIL file in geographic coordinates)

But my problem is that, as my heightfield is not projected, it doesn't contain the distortions that the real DEM has.

I'm new to the world of projections but I'd like to know if it's possible to:

- import a "not projected regular grid" as DEM data (by specifying geoposition) and convert it to geographic coordinates

- or to consider that this heightfield is already projected (I saw some projections have planar units in meter like Lambert conformal conic for example) and then convert the projection in geographic coordinates.

- directly import the original mesh in GM by specifying geoposition

The last way I see is, in my application, to generate the heightfield with distortion by positioning the mesh on the earth (with good geoposition) and casting rays in the direction of the earth's center to sample elevation data but I hope there is a simpler way in Global Mapper...

I hope I made my problem easy to understand...

Thank you!

Thibaud

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited August 2012
    Thibaud,