Global Mapper v25.0

GM SDK and Qt

dcoggin
dcoggin Global Mapper UserTrusted User
edited May 2012 in SDK
Mike and others,

I am interested in changing from MFC to Qt for GUI applications. Do you have any words of wisdom in using Global Mapper with Qt? Have you used Qt with the SDK making use of the MFC conversion classes (QWinHost, QWinWidget, QMfcApp)?

David

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited May 2012
    David,

I'm afraid I have no experience using Qt, I'm a MFC guy. However, the SDK doesn't use MFC at all in the external interface, only internally, so it really shouldn't matter what you use in your application. Even the GM_MapWindow class in the C++ sample application only use base GDI and no MFC, so you can use that as well.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • dcoggin
    dcoggin Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited May 2012
    I didn't think about that. So as long as it's on a windows machine, I suppose the SDK dll can work regardless if the calling application uses Qt. Thanks, Mike.

David
  • Yann DUPUY
    Yann DUPUY Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited May 2012
    Hi!

Just my two cents.
    I developped an application using Qt (4.7.2) and MSVC 2010.
    The only drawback is a #&*$ slowdown with last SDK release.
    I started investigating on that with Mike (See http://www.globalmapperforum.com/forums/sdk/7753-gm_saveworkspace-projections.html) and could not do many tests yet (you know, when Boss wants something... I could do it at home, but when Wife wants something...).

So I am eagerly waiting for your future results, to see if my performance problem comes from Qt interface!

Good luck,
    Yann
  • Toni Heimala
    Toni Heimala Global Mapper User
    edited May 2012