Ridgetop Peak Contour

JamesFNomarJamesFNomar Global Mapper UserPosts: 2
edited March 2012 in Suggestion Box
When modeling wind speeds it is very important to have each ridgetop's peak elevation as accurate as possible. Would it be possible in future versions to have an option to calculate the highest point of each ridge and draw a new contour that is smaller than the specified contour interval. For example, I need 20 ft contours across an area of 20 km wide. For each mountain top the actual elevation may be 2019 ft but GM will stop at 2000 because the contour interval I specified is 20 ft. Is it possible for it to recognize the highest point and either draw a new contour of 19ft or draw a point with this height?? Having to go in manually after creating each contour file has been a painstaking task.

Also, 10m NEDs would be a great addition!

Thanks, James

Comments

  • redbeardredbeard Global Mapper User Posts: 279Trusted User
    edited October 2010
    an elevation point would be ideal in your case. I doesn't make sense to add another contour line (off interval), and that is what elevation points are for. Sometimes it's even nice to have the elevation of saddles, though this could be more difficult.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2010
    Yes we do eventually hope to add support for finding localized peaks and valleys rather than just the minimum and maximum points within an area. This is on our todo list, as is built-in support for 10m NED data, which should hopefully be coming in v12.01.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • munirafsarmunirafsar Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited March 2012
    Any progress on finding localised peaks and valleys...is this feature available in the new version and can you add the ridgeline identification in to do list...thanks
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited March 2012
    We have not yet added any support for finding localized peaks and valleys. However, you can use the watershed option under the File menu to delineate drainage basins, and the edge of those basins will be ridge lines.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Ice Age MarkIce Age Mark Global Mapper User Posts: 309Trusted User
    edited March 2012
    You can also create a path/profile from the watershed boundary line; and either select peaks/saddles visually and have GM create a point at chosen locations, or export the profile as an XYZ file and work from that for finding local peaks, then re-import only the selected points. If you can judiciously break the profile (ridgeline) line into segments, GM can automatically find the high point in each segment, then just create a point there from the coordinates.
  • munirafsarmunirafsar Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited March 2012
    Though there are many workarounds, GlobalMapper has the reputation for simple and powerful implementation...and I know that this feature will be implemented soon....just for a pointer, you may have a look at LandSerf which implements this feature in a neat way...http://www.soi.city.ac.uk/~jwo/landserf/

    Thanks
Sign In or Register to comment.