error convert

energyenergy Global Mapper UserPosts: 384Trusted User
edited April 2013 in Projection Questions
Hi
I have several shape file with geographic projection(lat/long/wgs84), I should them to utm/ed 50(some features are in 35.zone some features are in 36.zone), I separate them two layers as 35 and 36 then I converted them(control center/options/projection) but I am not successful, they should be side by side, they appear diferrently.

how can I do that?

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2013
    The Projection tab of the Options dialog should rarely be used. It is only for when the projection chosen for a file at load is not the one that the coordinates are actually in. If you want to reproject you should change the projection on the Projection tab of the Configuration dialog which changes the view/export projection and actually causes reprojection.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2013
    The Projection tab of the Options dialog should rarely be used. It is only for when the projection chosen for a file at load is not the one that the coordinates are actually in. If you want to reproject you should change the projection on the Projection tab of the Configuration dialog which changes the view/export projection and actually causes reprojection.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
  • energyenergy Global Mapper User Posts: 384Trusted User
    edited April 2013
    it is ok but I have 2 zone , ED50 /35-36 zone, when I adjust projection in configuration dialog, I can choose one zone because,I seperate layer one layer and I change its zones in open control center/options/projection.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2013
    If you change the projection/zone on the Options dialog you are saying that the coordinates for that layer are really in ED50/35 or 36 and not whatever you said they were in when you loaded them. If the original coordinates were lat/lon degrees and you change to say they are UTM zone 35/36 you will end up treating the raw degree values as UTM, which will put the data right near the equator and the very center of the UTM zone and spanning likely just a meter or two on the ground.

    What you want to do is load one layer and change the Configuration dialog Projection to UTM/ED50/zone 35 and export, then repeat for the other and reprojection to zone 36.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2013
    If you change the projection/zone on the Options dialog you are saying that the coordinates for that layer are really in ED50/35 or 36 and not whatever you said they were in when you loaded them. If the original coordinates were lat/lon degrees and you change to say they are UTM zone 35/36 you will end up treating the raw degree values as UTM, which will put the data right near the equator and the very center of the UTM zone and spanning likely just a meter or two on the ground.

    What you want to do is load one layer and change the Configuration dialog Projection to UTM/ED50/zone 35 and export, then repeat for the other and reprojection to zone 36.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
  • energyenergy Global Mapper User Posts: 384Trusted User
    edited April 2013
    ok,I did you said at second paragraph ,I exported them as global mapper package files one by one.
Sign In or Register to comment.