water level not working on GM14

BCMoTBCMoT Global Mapper UserPosts: 6
edited December 2012 in Bug Report
In the 3-D view, the water level adjustment is not functioning correctly. I am using Windows 7. Is there a patch or should I try to reload the software.

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2012
    In what way is it not working properly? Which v14 build date do you have? Can you try getting the latest build and see if that makes a difference? I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper14.zip with the latest changes for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v14.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit v14 version there is a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper14_64bit.zip .

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • BCMoTBCMoT Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited December 2012
    No success. The issue is the water level does not rise, then when I increase the water level several m (30 to 40m) it suddenly rises, then when I increase it by another 10m it drops right down again. It was working originally (although never consistently when I used the change display properties GUI to adjust the water level by less than 10m). I tried to reinstall the program, but the problem persists.

    In what way is it not working properly? Which v14 build date do you have? Can you try getting the latest build and see if that makes a difference? I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper14.zip with the latest changes for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v14.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit v14 version there is a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper14_64bit.zip .

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2012
    Are you using the water level buttons on the 3D View toolbar or on the 3D View options dialog? I just tested and couldn't reproduce the issue, the water level worked perfectly for me. What does the application title bar list as the build date?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • BCMoTBCMoT Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited December 2012
    V. 14.1 (b120612) [64-bit]

    It also have the water level raising in some areas and then lowering again (if I am commanding it to raise), while in other areas of the DEM it will not raise.

    Originally, the button was working consistently while the options dialogue was not, now neither is working at all.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2012
    That is very strange. If you use the 3D view options dialog instead of the toolbar buttons does that work?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • BCMoTBCMoT Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited December 2012
    No, no difference. Is there a buffer that might need to be cleaned.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2012
    No there isn't any kind of setting I can think of that would be causing this. Can you provide the data you are using so that I can give it a try?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2012
    I was able to get the sample data and take a look. I could reproduce the issue with the water level area intermixing with the terrain and not moving directly as expected with small vertical exaggerations. The issue seems to be when the flat water surface area is very close to the terrain surface as rendered and seems to be a rounding issue due to the 3D engine just using single precision floating point.

    I'm afraid there isn't much that can be done, other than first turning on the water in the 2D view at the desired height so the terrain is colored before bringing it into the 3D view.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
Sign In or Register to comment.