Open Street Map questions

Yann DUPUYYann DUPUY Global Mapper UserPosts: 34Trusted User
edited November 2012 in SDK
Hi Mike,

I have two questions about OpenStreetMap data. I am talking about planimetric features data, not the raster.

1) Considering a workspace with imported osm file. Is it possible to withdraw any modifications made to the osm data into GlobalMapper when reloading the workspace, at loading (like a no_modify_overlay flag) ?

2) Do you intend to let user download OSM planimetric features data, straight from the server, or will you stick to raster maps only ?

Thanks,
Yann

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2012
    Yann,

    You can always select any modified features with the Digitizer Tool and restore the original location of the features. Or you can just reload the original .osm file if you don't want any of the modifications. As a last resort you can edit the .gmw file in a text editor and just either remove the MODIFY_OVERLAY command right after the IMPORT command. Just renaming it would cause it to fail (i.e MODIFY_OVERLAx).

    We aren't opposed to adding support for direct vector download of OSM data. In fact if a WFS server is offered for OSM data that could be added now.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Yann DUPUYYann DUPUY Global Mapper User Posts: 34Trusted User
    edited November 2012
    Mike,

    We aren't opposed to adding support for direct vector download of OSM data. In fact if a WFS server is offered for OSM data that could be added now.

    I'm sorry I was not aware of that WFS feature (In fact, I'm not aware of many things)... is it available from the SDK ?

    Thanks,
    Yann
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2012
    Yann,

    Yes, you can use GM_LoadOnlineLayer to bring up the online source dialog and then add a new source, including a WFS source.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Yann DUPUYYann DUPUY Global Mapper User Posts: 34Trusted User
    edited November 2012
    Yann,

    Yes, you can use GM_LoadOnlineLayer to bring up the online source dialog and then add a new source, including a WFS source.

    From SDK 13.1 (and 13.2) sample application, I do not have access to WFS source.
    Only Google Maps, OSM and TMS tiles, or WCS and WMS... no WFS.

    Do I need a newer SDK ?

    Thanks,
    Yann
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2012
    Yann,

    The WFS support wasn't added until the v14 SDK (also the v14 GM application). You can contact gmorders@bluemarblegeo.com for information on upgrading your v13 SDK to v14. Depending on your SDK agreement you might have upgrades included.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Yann DUPUYYann DUPUY Global Mapper User Posts: 34Trusted User
    edited November 2012
    The WFS support wasn't added until the v14 SDK (also the v14 GM application).

    Thanks,
    I'll see that when I switch to SDK v14 (How many SDK version do you publish a year ???)

    Yann
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2012
    Yann,

    The SDK versions are now synced to the Global Mapper application releases, so new major version updates should be done about once a year, usually around September.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
Sign In or Register to comment.