Global Mapper v25.0

Beginner question on geoPDF exporting and points being rasterized

firemanx
firemanx Global Mapper User
edited October 2012 in Raster Data
Hello all,

Let me first begin by saying that I think this piece of software is incredible. I am no GIS professional by any means, however this software has helped me learn some of the basic functions as such. Forgive me if I don't use the appropriate terminology.

So, I have a raster image as a "base map", it is georeferenced. I am attempting to place points with a custom icon as a seperate layer and export them as a geoPDF. I am able to place the points with my custom symbol (PNG) and the resolution of these symbols look great in GM, however when I export the raster and the point layer together, GM seems to rasterize my points and make them incredibly pixelated. I envisioned that my point layer would remain as a vector type layer and I would be able to zoom into those icons without any pixelation issues in the PDF format.

I'd like to accomplish exporting the raster base map, with the crisp icon point, rather than having it rasterized also, which I don't know if it's possible or not.

Any help or advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

One of the sreenshots depicts the image in GM, the other is from the exported PDF.
Capture.PNGCapture2.PNG

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited October 2012
    Are you exporting your PDF using the File->Export PDF menu command or printing to a PDF? You would definitely want to use the former rather than the latter as it should keep the points as vectors and actually embed the symbol images to display.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • firemanx
    edited October 2012