Problem with licensing when connected to LAN via hardwire.

chuckchuck Global Mapper UserPosts: 82Trusted User
edited October 2012 in Technical Support
Folks:

I have recently upgraded to GM v14. I see that the licensing has changed with this new release.

It seems the problem I am running into is that the licensing appears to be linked to my MAC address (?). For example: I installed the application and during the registration process I was connected to the internet via my wireless and I am able to open and run the program with no issues when the computer's wireless adapter is turned on. I run into an error when my computer is connected to my network using a hardwire connection. A window pops up indicating GM is, "Unable to checkout license," and the application opens up in the trial version mode.

Can you please help with this licensing issue? There are many times when my computer is connected via hardwire, especially when pulling down large files over the network.

Thank you in advance.

-Chuck

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2012
    Chuck,

    We did see this issue for a few users where the recognized MAC address would change. Last week we put out a new v14.0.2 release that should be smarter about this and work in either case with the same .lic file. The .lic will be based on your built-in hardware Ethernet card, even it isn't active at the moment. You can download and install the v14.0.2 release from the links below and try it:

    32-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/downloads/global_mapper14_setup.exe
    64-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/downloads/global_mapper14_setup_64bit.exe

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2012
    Thanks Mike...I will download install and check.

    -Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2012
    Mike:

    I am now dead in the water. I downloaded and installed the v14.0.2 (b100512) and I now unable to get the application to open as being registered. I have also been working with J. Bird (Global Mapper Support) and following her instructions about placing license files into the GM directory and it is becoming confusing very quickly.

    I am unsure and unable to see if the v14.0.2 release has resolved the issue. I have left a voicemail via the general support portal (Dave) and requested that J. Bird please call back.

    How should I proceed at this point? I am thinking of getting the apparent license issue resolved before installing the patched application. Or do you recommend that I install the patched GM v14.0.2 and then work through the licensing issue with J. Bird?


    Thank you in advance.


    -Chuck
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2012
    Chuck,

    I just talked to Jasmine and it sounds like she has you covered. What is the machine ID listed on your registration dialog? I want to make sure the new smarter variable machine ID handling in v14.0.2 is working properly for you.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2012
    Hi Mike...yes I am working with Jasmine. I am unsure what specific information it is that you are requesting; but, I have sent information off to her for generating a solution. I can forward the e-mail I sent to her if you think the information I sent contains what you are looking for if you want or it may be possible to get the e-mail from Jasmine.

    Thanks again for your help.

    BTW - I have a library I am currently using of various well symbols that are traditionally used in the energy industry that I think are more appropriate for use in maps than the symbols curently included with the application. I can forward these if you wish in native .ai and / or in .png format/s for your review if you would like.

    -Chuck
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2012
    Chuck,

    That's fine, she can provide it to me if she needs any assistance.

    If you want to provide the symbols as .png files we can look at them and possibly add some, likely to Global Energy Mapper.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2012
    Folks:

    I am up and running...thank you all for your help.

    -Chuck
Sign In or Register to comment.