Indonesian Imagery

konservasikonservasi Global Mapper UserPosts: 8
edited July 2012 in Downloading Imagery
I have activate my account with original license of global mapper..this is register to MACHINE LOCKED

I have also activate the client id to receive digitalglobe premium content imagery but I can't see Indonesian
imagery..would you mind to help me how can I get Indonesian imagery?cleardot.gif

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    Which part of Indonesia are you trying to view? Also what version of Global Mapper do you have? The DigitalGlobe imagery access changed in v13.2 and no longer works in earlier versions. If you do not already have the latest release (v13.2.2) I would first recommend getting that from the links below, then trying the DigitalGlobe access:

    32-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/downloads/global_mapper_setup.exe
    64-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/downloads/global_mapper_setup_64bit.exe

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • konservasikonservasi Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited July 2012
    Thanks..the problem is projection of the map..right now, I have seen them..thanks a lot..

    by the way, how can I export the imagery

    export option.png

    What option can I choose? RGB or multiband?

    Need assistant here

    thanks before
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    The streaming DigitalGlobe imagery is just RGB color imagery (i.e. multi-band imagery is not available), so for export to GeoTIFF use the 24-bit RGB option. You might also change the Compression option further down the dialog to JPG-in-TIFF to get much smaller files for imagery by applying JPG compression to the data being placed in the TIFF file.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • konservasikonservasi Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited July 2012
    Is there any effect when I reduce JPG-in-TIFF? What number (between 0-100) is your suggestion for the optimum result of the exporting the imagery?

    The purpose to reduce JPG-in-TIFF is for save my bandwith

    Need assistant please
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    Yes lower quality values will create smaller output files, but with less crisp results. Note this doesn't reduce what needs to be downloaded from online sources, like DigitalGlobe, only the size vs. quality of the output file for the given export resolution. Typically the default of 75 is a good balance of compression with little noticeable loss in quality.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • konservasikonservasi Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited July 2012
    Then how can I lost a lot of bandwith? meanwhile I only export 65 kilometer square of imagery. Right now my quota approximetally 6.5%

    For your information, I am using default option to export the imagery and the quota of my download is 260 kilometer square. The resolution of the imagery is 0.5 m

    What is my mistake?
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    The quota is defined as a number of pixels that you download from the server, which is broken into a large number of zoom levels. The amount of area that covers on the ground depends on the resolution that you export at. The default quoted value of 260 sq km is for a 1m per pixel export at the equator to make the math simple. To compute what you need for a particular resolution there is a formula, but 0.5m resolution export will require 4 times the data (twice as much in each direction), so you would only get about 65 sq km at 0.5 resolution. If you went the other way at 2m resolution you would get over 1,000 sq km.

    The math can be quite involved, which is why we added several estimators in v13.2, including a dialog when you start an export that indicates how much premium imagery that you will use from your bucket for a particular export. You have the option to cancel the export at that point if it will use more than you want by pressing No. Once you press Yes you accept that the amount of imagery the export will use is ok and it will proceed to download it with your authorization.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • konservasikonservasi Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited July 2012
    Could you give me a simulation how can I calculate the bandwith after I get export the imagery?

    For example I would like to export 66 km square of aoi for 75 value of JPEG to TIFF change with default compression

    please give me a comparation for the same km square of aoi but with 60 value JPEG in TIFF change with default compression

    If you don't mind, please also share the quicklook two of them

    Thanks before
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    The JPEG-in-TIFF quality setting has absolutely no effect on the bandwidth (i.e. amount of imagery that you download). That is only affected by the export bounds and resolution. See http://globalmapper.com/online_data/buy_digital_globe.htm for the formula used to calculate how much you need to cover a particular area at a particular resolution. However it is much easier to use the estimators built into v13.2.2 rather than doing the math by hand.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • konservasikonservasi Global Mapper User Posts: 8
    edited July 2012
    In this statement,

    required_1m_sq_miles
    = desired_area_sq_miles / ( export_res_meters ^ 2 * cos( latitude_of_area_center ) )

    What does cos means?
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    That is the cosine of the latitude of the area center. As Indonesia is right near the equator and the cosine of 0 is 1, you can just ignore that term for your purposes.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
Sign In or Register to comment.