Global Mapper Pro

Resizing the GM window without change of resolution

GreinaGreina Global Mapper UserTrusted User Posts: 61
edited July 2012 in Technical Support
When I resize the GM window, GM changes the resolution of the map. Is there any chance to avoid this?

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    Currently resizing tries to maintain your view area (it may have to grow a bit in one direction or another if you change the aspect ratio) rather than just grow your view area and keep the same resolution. It could be made to behave the other way (i.e. keep resolution and just grow view area), but there would probably have to be a setting somewhere to control this. It's really never come up in all the years that Global Mapper has been in existence. You can also set a specific resolution under the View menu. Will that work for keeping a specific resolution?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • GreinaGreina Global Mapper User Trusted User Posts: 61
    edited July 2012
    I view a map and want to see more of it without changing the resolution.

    What I currently do: I check the present sample spacing in the view menu, enlarge the window, return to view menu, open zoom to spacing and fill in the previous sample spacing.

    My idea: I press the STRG button while resizing the window. So we do not need an additional button!
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    What is the STRG button? I don't have one of those but I'm guessing maybe you have different language keyboard?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • GreinaGreina Global Mapper User Trusted User Posts: 61
    edited July 2012
    It is the Ctrl button.

    On the German keyboard it is Strg, although Strg isn´t German either.....
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    Ok I'll add this and get you a new build, seems like resizing is ok with Ctrl held.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2012
    I've updated the resizing so if you hold down the Ctrl key the resolution is exactly maintained and the window extents just grown or shrank. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13.zip with the latest changes for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v13.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit v13 version there is a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_64bit.zip .

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • GreinaGreina Global Mapper User Trusted User Posts: 61
    edited July 2012
    Mike, Thank you very much it works fine!!
Sign In or Register to comment.