Global Mapper Pro

Save Checked/Unchecked Layers in Saved Views

Henderson
Henderson Global Mapper UserTrusted User
edited February 2013 in Suggestion Box
Hello, I saved a view, panned and changed which layers were checked/viewed. Then when I when I loaded the saved view, only the position / zoom level was restored, not the original configuration of which layers are checked and which not.

This might be useful to implement. Thx.

Comments

  • global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited June 2012
    The saved view does only store the position information and nothing about the layer enable state as the saved views can be used regardless of which layers you have loaded and you might want to view the same location with different layers enabled. If you save a workspace it will of course remember everything, including the layer enable state and view when you save the workspace.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Henderson
    Henderson Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited June 2012
    Yes, that makes sense. Thanks Mike.

    The saved view does only store the position information and nothing about the layer enable state as the saved views can be used regardless of which layers you have loaded and you might want to view the same location with different layers enabled. If you save a workspace it will of course remember everything, including the layer enable state and view when you save the workspace.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • Amanda McDermott
    Amanda McDermott Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited February 2013
    Mike,

    We are having the same problem as Henderson and would make the same suggestion - it would be really very useful to be able to save a view that remembers the visible layer set.

    For our purposes, saving as seperate workspaces isn't really an option, since 1) It would take up a lot of memory space 2) These seperate workspaces would not then reflect changes made on one workspace that we would wish to reflect on all drawings.

    Perhaps the saved views could have an option as to whether to save the layer set or not, if people might want to use the saved views as you indicate?

    Thanks,
    Amanda

    The saved view does only store the position information and nothing about the layer enable state as the saved views can be used regardless of which layers you have loaded and you might want to view the same location with different layers enabled. If you save a workspace it will of course remember everything, including the layer enable state and view when you save the workspace.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited February 2013
    Amanda,

    I have added this to our todo list (internal item 11502).

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/
Sign In or Register to comment.