Add attributes to Areas from selected Points

wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper UserPosts: 220Trusted User
edited April 2012 in Technical Support
The reverse of selection exists, but is this way possible?

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    Yes, select the areas that you want to add the attributes to, then right click and select the option to add attributes to the selected area from points.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    I am sorry that I have not make the point clear. What I wish to do is to select the Points (by search attribute option) and add the attributes of the Points (say the name field) to the Areas that the Points are sitting on. Is this possible? I cannot select the Areas of concern because they do not have the necessary attribute to isolate them from the background.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    Actually the existing option will work if you just drag to select all of the areas, then also add just the points that you want to apply attributes from to the selection, then when you use the option to add attributes to the selected areas from the points, it will prompt you to just use the selected points rather than all of them.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    yes sir, it works now. Thank you very much for your explanation.

    I have another issue. In some Areas, I have multiple Points on it, say one building can have more than one street numbers. The issue is that, when I add the attribute from Points containing the street number to buildings, GM will only use the last Point it encounters in that Area. Can I include the attributes from all multiple Points into the same Area (say delimited by an arbitrary character, e.g. / ; & etc?)
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    I have updated that option to add attributes to areas from points in that area to append values of attribute already exist to the new value for the area (comma-separated) rather than just using the first value encountered. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13.zip with the latest changes for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v13.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit v13 version there is a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_64bit.zip .

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    Thank you very much. Great. BTW, can the delimiter be user selectable?
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    BTW, how can I delete those Points that have their attributes added to the Areas (please note that some Points selected in the digitizer mode might not fall into any selected Areas and therefore might not have their attributes added).
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    There isn't currently a way to specify the delimiter to use for this case. I could maybe add something to the registry, but am trying to avoid cluttering up the user interface with such an esoteric option. Is there a different separator that would work better for you?

    For removing those points whose attributes are added, you could select the areas then right-cick and use the option to select all points with the selected areas, then you can delete them.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    Thank you very much. The choice of delimiter is not an absolutely necessary option, you can just keep it in that way if it is too troublesome to add in this choice.

    I just tried your update, and found that if the original attribute value contains a "/" character, then the resulting attribute will have a space " " instead of the "/" character. Is there any way to rectify this?

    On the option to delete those points that have their attributes added. The issue is, take an example, the Area of a building might have three points sitting on it, say two Points for the road number, and one Point for the building name. Now, if I select the Area of that building, and delete all the Points that happens to be sitting on it, then I will also delete the Points of the building names. The way I can work around this is to select all the Points sitting on the building Areas as you said, add a new attribute type to the selected Points. Then go to Search for that new attribute, then within the search result, select for all the street number Points to delete. I just wish to know is there any more direct way to do it.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    I'm not seeing the issue with the "/" character. Is that if the point attribute value has the / in it?

    What I might suggest is classifying your point features with a type based on whether they are a display label or something else, then you can use the Point Filter settings on the Vector Display tab of the Configuration dialog to turn off the point types you aren't interested in (i.e. the labels) during these operations, then turn them back on when you are done.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • wmiswmwmiswm Global Mapper User Posts: 220Trusted User
    edited April 2012
    "I'm not seeing the issue with the "/" character. Is that if the point attribute value has the / in it?"

    Yes, exactly as said.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited April 2012
    Can you provide some sample data that shows this as I am unable to reproduce the behavior?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • RudyRudy Global Mapper User Posts: 5
    Has this Optioned Moved, changed name, or been dropped ?
    ADD attributes to Selected Areas from Selected Points
    Cant seem to find it in the menu

  • bmg_bobbmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer Posts: 2,057
    Hello,

    I think you want Attribute/Style Functions | Copy Attributes Between Overlapping/Nearby Features. 

    Cheers,
    Bob
Sign In or Register to comment.