setting transparent colors by chosing off the image

Lisa PapLisa Pap Global Mapper UserPosts: 1
edited August 2013 in Raster Data
Hello, I have a satalight image that I need to make parts of if transparent. Is there any way of chosing the color straight off the image or by selecting only portions of it?

Much appreciated,

Lisa
TransGlobe Energy

Comments

• global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited January 2012
    Lisa,

When you point your cursor at the image the RGB color under the cursor should be displayed. Just remember that (or write it down), then when you setup the transparent colors specify that RGB value.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
  • Australian UAVAustralian UAV Global Mapper User Posts: 7
    edited August 2013
    Hi

I am new to GM and now wish I'd bought it years ago when I started my company. I am using near infrared images (ecw, but I also have them as geotiffs) to locate a certain species of tree that has a distinct colour. In order to find all of these trees in the image I need to know the RGB colour numbers. Mike states above that the colour under the cursor should be displayed. Are you able to tell me where it is displayed and if necessary what tool should I have selected to do this. Or, can you tell me a better way to approach this problem?

Many thanks for your help.

Regards
    Heinz
    edited August 2013
    Heinz,

When you move your cursor over a raster image the color of each pixel (if an image and not a grid layer) should be displayed on the bottom left in the status bar. It will be in the left-side large pane. Are you not seeing that?

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    Blue Marble Geographics for Coordinate Conversion, Image Reprojection and Vector Translation
    edited August 2013
    Hi Mike