Batch Convert / Reproject (File Names - Auto Increment Name)

RobertRRobertR GlobalMapper Fan!Posts: 285Trusted User
edited January 2012 in Suggestion Box
Hello,

Regarding this topic, it would be very helpful if there had been an extra option when exporting several files. Currently, I can use the source name (because I have png files) only but I would like them to have a more simple output.

Let's say I have 10 files ready to be exported. I would prefer to have the resulting files -> 1.tif, 1(1).tif, 1(2). tif (or something like this) and so on instead of (Global Mapper.png / Global 13-14 Mapper.png / Our Forum Name.png ...);

To be more specific, a way to better control the output names. I know it is easy to solve with a rename but still, just curious if it would be a good thing;

Furthermore, if I want to have a given png file georeferenced in two different places (in the same session) I cannot do this because when I try to load that file the second time, it (logically) tells me that it is already loaded. So if I want to complete the job, I have to export the first one and then to take care of the other.

Thank for the support,

Best regards,

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2011
    You can have some more control over the file naming if you use a script to do the export rather than batch convert.

    You can load the same PNG (or other file) multiple times. Just select No rather than Yes when prompted about the already loaded file and it will load a second time.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • RobertRRobertR GlobalMapper Fan! Posts: 285Trusted User
    edited December 2011

    You can load the same PNG (or other file) multiple times. Just select No rather than Yes when prompted about the already loaded file and it will load a second time.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    http://www.globalmapper.com

    Hello,

    Tried that as well but it doesn't actually work because although it let's me load the file, after georeferencing, in the batch convert window, it shows only one of them...
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2011
    Oh I guess for batch conversion you can only add a single loaded file once since it is based on filename. So you want to load the same PNG but geo-reference it differently and have them both in the same instance? Is this a map?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
  • RobertRRobertR GlobalMapper Fan! Posts: 285Trusted User
    edited January 2012
    Oh I guess for batch conversion you can only add a single loaded file once since it is based on filename. So you want to load the same PNG but geo-reference it differently and have them both in the same instance? Is this a map?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com

    Hello and Happy New Year,

    That is correct. I can georeference the same png several times (as you said) but in the batch conversion dialog I see only one. Thus, although I georeferenced the same file several times (to have it displayed in different places), I can export only one (because, as you said, it is based on file name);

    Let's say I want to put the Global Mapper icon on each school where the students work in this software. I import the png icon 10 times because I have 10 schools where the students work with Global Mapper. I georeference the file 10 times because in the end I want to export 10 TIFF files (here, I need 10 separate files, not 1 containing the 10 TIFFs). Currently I can't do this in one instance. I have to export the files separately;

    I hope this makes sense. Thank you for the support,
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited January 2012
    For what you are describing (i.e. a non-spatial file) what you should do instead is load your PNG file using the File->Open Data File at Fixed Screen Location menu command and load your icon PNG at a fixed screen/export location. Then save a workspace file. You can then just load one of your TIFF files then load that workspace file with the PNG at a fixed location and it should come up where you want it for the export.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    gmsupport@bluemarblegeo.com
    http://www.globalmapper.com
Sign In or Register to comment.