Global Mapper v25.0

Import Excel File Into a GM Topo Map

acgardiner
acgardiner Global Mapper UserTrusted User
edited November 2010 in Technical Support
I guess I am still a novice here but am challenged by the following. I do polar plots of antenna radiation patterns of field strength, every 10 degrees from 0 to 360 and for various field strengths. I am wondering how to import these from an Excel or Kaleidagraph file into GM so that a) the the transmitter of the contours is centred on a specific latitude and longitude, and b) the contours extend the distances in kilometres that are in the Excel file. Naturally I would be overlaying these contours onto a topographical map of a specified scale.

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited January 2008
    I'm not too familiar with antenna radiation patterns and exactly what your Excel spreadsheets look like, but I wonder if perhaps you could use the range ring functionality in the Digitizer Tool if you have concentric rings around a location at a certain radius. You can select the Digitizer Tool, then right click and select the option to create range rings, then specify the location and the radius that you need.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • acgardiner
    acgardiner Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited January 2008
    Mike,

The contours are irregularly shaped, i.e. they can be cardioids, elliptical, compound curves, etc. since they are determined by the terrain elevation along different azimuths as well as the directional characteristics of the antenna......