planar unit toises

SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper UserPosts: 16
I have a map with a grid in the planar unit toises (1 toise = (864/443.296) meters).
But I can find this planar unit not in GlobalMapper.
Is there another solution (user defined planar units)?

Created with Google Translator

Sincerely, Rolf

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited September 2011
    Rolf,

    There is not currently any support for user-defined units, so you would have to scale the toise units to a built-in unit. It seems that the 'toise' units were defined several different ways throughout history depending on where you were (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toise), so that unit is a bit of a mess.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper User Posts: 16
    edited September 2011
    Mike,

    Thanks for the reply. User-defined units would be the solution. I can not use the X / Y coordinates of the corner of the map, but I must look into a Ecxeltabelle.

    Well would also allow the "X / Y coordinates" the map to be able to insert edges from the "Image Rectifer" window in "Crop to Manually Specified Boundary Layer in Native Projection / Units".

    Created with Google Translator

    Thanks,

    Rolf
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited September 2011
    Rolf,

    If you know the XY values in 'toise' units, just multiply by the conversion factor to get them as meters and use that as your projection.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper User Posts: 16
    edited September 2011
    Mike,

    Exactly how I did it. I've also converted for the Cassini-Soldner projection of the radius of the sphere in meters. But the corner coordinates are now no smooth values, for example 20000T correspond 38981m.

    I'm going to make it so because there is no other way.

    Created with Google Translator
    My English is very bad, unfortunately.

    Thanks,

    Rolf
  • SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper User Posts: 16
    edited September 2011
    Mike,

    we have a solution for the user-defined units found, we have created the tool Toise2gmw.exe.

    Step 1: When rectify select the unit meter. When rectify meters = toise enter.
    Step 2: Save Workspace
    Step 3: Run Toise2gmw.exe
    Step 4: Press Start to open GMW-file.
    Step 5: The planar units are multiplied by the factor and is saved under name_t2g.gmw.

    If Cropping is selected, the string CLIP_COLLAR =" none "
    replaced by the string CLIP_COLLAR =" NATIVE "CLIP_COLLAR_BOUNDS ="..."
    and so can cropped the image.

    You see in the center of example.jpg, the original image toise = meters, outside the final image of Toise2gmw.exe.

    The progam can also be used for any unit.

    A guarantee cannot be assumed.

    Thanks,

    Rolf
  • GeoGeo Global Mapper User Posts: 92Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    thanks for your tool Satellite !

    i noticed that if the decimal separator used by your operating system is "." the program won't make the conversion.
  • SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper User Posts: 16
    edited September 2011
    Thank you for helping Geo!

    you're right. I've also tested the same. We will try to eliminate the error.

    Rolf
  • SatelliteSatellite Global Mapper User Posts: 16
    edited September 2011
    Geo

    Here is the second version. We hope the problem is fixed.

    Rolf
  • GeoGeo Global Mapper User Posts: 92Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    Satellite,

    i tried the version 2 with decimal separator set as "." on my system, and the program works very well.
    i did not try the option "cropping" as i do not have .gmw file with active "CLIP_COLLAR", but i guess the option will be working fine.

    thanks again to share your program,
    Richard.
Sign In or Register to comment.