Global Mapper Pro

New User Questions

clicktrack
clicktrack Global Mapper User
edited July 2011 in How I use Global Mapper
I am on the trial version and trying to see if this software will meet my needs. I am a commercial real estate broker and want to get aerials to show for clients. I know the NAIP maps at 1m will work for resolution but I have come questions about additional features that may make my life easier.

1. I can connect and stream the NAIP US map but it takes a little bit to update after each time I move to new location or zoom in. Is this streaming map always included with the software or is this an additional service I need to subscribe too?

2. Is there any place I can get street names overlaid the NAIP map. I would prefer just major roads such as interstates, Hwys, and county roads.

3. Is there any service that provides some sort of overlay for locations such as retailers. Like if I wanted all of the Wal-Marts marked on the map.

4. Can I add information to the map and save it such as marking the retailers. Ideally I would want to add different information and it would be ideal if I ever wanted to bring that map up for a client to not have to re-create everything.

5. What is the largest output size I can export to transfer to Photoshop or illustrator. I mainly use 11x17 but occasionally want to create more poster size images for the clients.

6. Is there a way to download NAIP data locally so the page loads quicker rather then having it streamed.

I realize some of these extras may require purchasing additional products so if any of them do to make my life easier please let me know.

Thanks

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited April 2011
    The NAIP imagery server (hosted by the USGS) can be a bit slow at times. This source is free with a Global Mapper license. You might also try the World Imagery source in the new release (v12.02) as it should have NAIP for the US and might be faster.