Downloading from WMS server

falqnfalqn Global Mapper UserPosts: 123Trusted User
edited September 2011 in Downloading Imagery
Hi,
I have problem with downloading data from WMS server http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx
GM displays information that SRS EPSG:4326 is invalid.

This service supports EPSGs 4326 and 2180.
This service is working great under ArcGis 9.2, this means that problem is in GM? I'm using GM v11.01.
Best regards
Wojtek, Poland

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited February 2010
    Wojtek,

    How are you setting up the WMS source in Global Mapper? I just tried with a server URL of 'http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx' and a Service name of 'WMS' and it seemed to work fine. When I tried the first listed source (TOPO_50_92) the data downloaded with no errors (I did just get blank tiles with geoportal.gov.pl listed on them, but that is because I don't know where to zoom in for data with this source).

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • falqnfalqn Global Mapper User Posts: 123Trusted User
    edited February 2010
    Hi,
    I make a mistake in adress, server whitch is not working properly is server http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx (wms_orto NOT wms_topo) Server from your post with one of layers named TOPO_50_90 is on adress http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_topo/wmservice.aspx' and its working fine. I have updated ma post but you have probably recived old one, sorry.
    To be clear, problem is with http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx
    Wojtek, Poland
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited February 2010
    Ah sorry, I didn't notice the change. It looks like that server only supports EPSG 2180 and not 4326, but Global Mapper didn't know what 2180 was so it defaulted to 4326. I have added support for 2180 to Global Mapper and now it loads fine. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper11.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v11.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit version, there is a new build available at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper11_64bit.zip .

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • falqnfalqn Global Mapper User Posts: 123Trusted User
    edited February 2010
    Mike,
    Thank you very much, the server is running great under new build. I am glad that I can work with GM and people like you - who can solve my problems immediately.
    Best regards
    Wojtek, Poland
  • chrisgaylechrisgayle Global Mapper User Posts: 1
    edited April 2010
    I have Mono-GIS WMS server installed and I have the was able to get the example map/layers to display in another WMS Browser, but I can't seem to get the example to work in World Wind. I'm scratching my brain trying to figure out what's what because I need to get this working to show my boss. Any ideas?
  • EDGAREDGAR Global Mapper User Posts: 77Trusted User
    edited April 2010
    Mike

    Just FYI...
    If downloading from Geoportal.pl - Topo maps, one have to adjust Zoom i.e. Zoom to scale according to the particular sets of maps. For example - downloading TOPO_50_90, one has to Zoom to scale 1: 50 000 BEFORE he starts downloading. Then it works very fine.
    Regards
  • falqnfalqn Global Mapper User Posts: 123Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    Hi,
    When I'm opening WMS service http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_topo/wmservice.aspx (Polish Geoportal raster map service) for example TOPO_50_92 the layer bounds are shifted north and east - I can not reach the southern and western parts of Poland. Metadata option in Overlay Control Center says:

    WEST LONGITUDE=13° 46' 11.1641" E
    NORTH LATITUDE=56° 57' 21.4102" N
    EAST LONGITUDE=30° 20' 6.0208" E
    SOUTH LATITUDE=49° 57' 29.5581" N

    but this bounds are shifted.
    Something is wrong...
    This service http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx is working OK and it's from Polish geoportal too.

    Best regards,
    Wojtek from Poland
  • falqnfalqn Global Mapper User Posts: 123Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    Hi,
    My posts do not appear in forum, what's up?
    Wojtek from Poland
  • falqnfalqn Global Mapper User Posts: 123Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    falqn wrote: »
    Hi,
    My posts do not appear in forum, what's up?
    Wojtek from Poland

    Hi,
    My recent posts do not appear in forum, what's up? Forum says that moderator must approve my post. I have writen one post about downloading from Polish geoportal WMS serwer couple of weeks ago, I did it again last fiday in several places (raster data, downloading imagery etc.) and still nothing. I do not want to write about the problem a third time...
    But it's a big problem for me, layer bounds of this service http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_topo/wmservice.aspx are incorrect - not whole Poland is in it, I can not access most southern and western part of Poland. Service from the same source http://sdi.geoportal.gov.pl/wms_orto/wmservice.aspx is working OK.
    Please help me

    Best regards
    Wojtek from Poland
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited September 2011
    I saw all of your messages from the other day (I replied to one, the others were duplicates). Basically the problem is that the server has the bounds incorrect in their GetCapabilities document (they have their X and Y bounding box coordinates swapped, so it seems that their data source covers a different area than it really does). This problem needs to be fixed in the GetCapabilities document on their server.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • EDGAREDGAR Global Mapper User Posts: 77Trusted User
    edited September 2011
    Hi Wojtek,
    If U wish, we could test this situation together.
    Do U get the same result ref to all topo layers fm Geoportal ?
    Call me prv -
    www.globalmapper.com.pl/index.html
    RGDS
    EDGAR - PL
Sign In or Register to comment.