Geopdf load hangs system

Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper UserPosts: 31
edited January 2010 in Bug Report
When I try to load a geopdf my system hangs and I have to shut my computer down to get it to work again. I am using dlgv32 Pro, version 11 from the USGS site. I am trying to load Geopdf's I get from the USGS site. Operating system is Win XP Home SP1.

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    Can you point me at one of the files that you are having trouble loading or just post it here? Also, can you try getting the latest build to see if that fixes the problem? I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper11.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v11.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit version, there is a new build available at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper11_64bit.zip . This update works fine for dlgv32 Pro or a Global Mapper installation (they are the same).

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    I have attached one of the Geopdf's that hangs on me. I got it from the USGS online store (store.usgs.gov).

    I will try a later build after I get some chores done this afternoon.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    I just tried the file in the latest build and it worked fine for me, with the initial load taking about 15 seconds before the map displayed. So hopefully this will be fixed for you when you get the latest build installed.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    I tried the 32 bit version of the new build and got an error: "Error loading PDF library C:\Program Files\GlobalMapper11\QuickPDFDLL.dll"

    I do have this file in the right path and it is version 7.16.808.1, created 8/10/2009.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    I think you may have an older version of that DLL. Can you try downloading and running the latest Global Mapper v11.01 installer from http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper11_setup.exe and see if that fixes the problem? This is identical to dlgv32 Pro, so you aren't changing anything.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    I installed version 11.01 and it locked my computer up again when I tried to open the same Geopdf I sent you. The QuickPDFDLL.dll version is now 7.17.1029.209.

    FYI, I block GM from connecting to the internet with my firewall, but I doubt if that would cause the problem. Where does GM try to connect to when it is loaded?
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    Global Mapper shouldn't try to go online at all when loading a PDF file. It will try to go online when trying to access one of the online sources, or to check for new versions, but nothing really related to PDF.

    It is very odd that your entire computer is locking up. It shouldn't even be possible for that to happen from an application, unless there is some kind of driver issue. Can you check to see if you have the latest video drivers for your computer? Also, can you bring up Task Manager while GM is attempting to load the file?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    No, GM doesn't go online when I try to load a GeoPDF, it tries to connect with someone when I open it. I suppose it is trying to connect with your server, but I don't allow it for security reasons.

    No, I can't even open Task Manager when it hangs. I have to turn the power switch off.

    I will check on my video drivers, but I think they are up to date.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    I suppose that the PDF library that we use may be trying to connect to their server for some reason, perhaps to validate the PDF license? Can you try enabling access for GM to see if that helps?

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    I allowed GM access to the internet, but it still hung. I am wondering if it is an Adobe component that is missing? Do I need the plugin which allows Adobe reader to view GeoPDF's? I don't have it installed, but I can still view the GeoPDF's in Adobe reader, except of course they are not GIS capable.

    I looked into my graphics drivers which are the original nVidia ones that came with this six year old system. I have been studying the nVidia drivers and reading their forums and it seems these old graphic cards don't necessarily work better with the latest driver updates, so I am still trying to decide if I want to hazard updating my drivers.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited December 2009
    No Adobe components are necessary, the PDF library is completely self-contained.

    If you want I can convert the GeoPDF file to another format and provide it to you.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    Thanks for your offer to convert the GeoPDF, but I am really more interested in exploring the capabilities of GeoPDF files in GM. I can get the same quad in a Geotiff and it displays fine.

    I am going to work on my system a little and see that it is running OK and I may try to do some debugging and install new video drivers, etc. to see if I can fix it.
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited December 2009
    I installed the latest build of GM on another PC in my home that has Win XP Sp2 on it and was able to load the GeoPDF. It took about 30 seconds to load, but it did display. So, I imagine there is something missing in SP1 or the video drivers on the PC that can't load it. I am continuing to assess the problem and will report any success.
  • Bill CarsonBill Carson Global Mapper User Posts: 31
    edited January 2010
    As an update, I installed newer (2006 versus old 2003) graphics driver and tried to load the Geopdf without success again. I was able to gain control with task manager and shut down GM. Will continue to work the problem.
Sign In or Register to comment.