Problems with WMS server

twist3rtwist3r Global Mapper UserPosts: 2
edited November 2009 in Technical Support
Hello. I'm having troubles with WMS server. When I download online data from this WMS server I get big spaces between tiles. In fact, it seems that the space between tiles have the dimensions of a tile. I'm not sure if this is a problem with projections but I tried all the projections setting and none it worked. The WMS layer is this : http://89.34.72.180/cgi-bin/cache/tilecache.cgi?

I uploaded 2 screenshots. thank you

http://www.globalmapperforum.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=309&stc=1&d=1246616617

http://www.globalmapperforum.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=310&stc=1&d=1246616617

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2009
    I took a look and found that the issue is that while Global Mapper is requesting that the server return tiles of size 512x512 pixels, it is actually returning tiles of size 256x256, so they were being shown at half their size in Global Mapper. I have updated Global Mapper to use the size of image returned rather than assuming that the server complies with the requested size and now I don't get the gaps (I still only get white tiles though). I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper10.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v10.xx installation folder to give it a try.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • twist3rtwist3r Global Mapper User Posts: 2
    edited July 2009
    Thank you. Now it works.
    You saw whites tiles because you need to zoom to country level to saw something.
  • jasonbeveragejasonbeverage Global Mapper User Posts: 3
    edited November 2009
    Hi Mike,

    Is there any chance you can port this fix back to GM 9?

    Thanks,

    Jason
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2009
    I have back-ported this fix to a v9.xx build. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper9.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v9.xx installation to give it a try.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • jasonbeveragejasonbeverage Global Mapper User Posts: 3
    edited November 2009
    Hi Mike,

    I just downloaded the change but GM 9 still seems to have the issue. I've cleared all my caches as well. GM 10 seems to be fine with the changes.

    Also, on a related topic, is there a way to specify what format (PNG, JPEG, etc) to download the WMS tiles in? It seems to always use PNG which won't work with some of the servers I'm looking at that are serving JPEGs.

    Thanks,

    Jason
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2009
    Jason,

    I debugged in and discovered I needed another fix to make this fix work. Now all is well if you download the v9 build again.

    You can specify the format to use when you define the source by making the service name something like 'WMS&format=image/jpeg'. Note that the WMS source specifies what formats that it supports in the capabilities document, so if a WMS source is specifying that PNG is supported but actually isn't, the capabilities document should really be updated to remove PNG from the list of supported formats. PNG is the highest priority format to use in GM.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • jasonbeveragejasonbeverage Global Mapper User Posts: 3
    edited November 2009
    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for your quick response, your fixes work great with GM9. Good tip on the format as well. The WMS server is indeed not sending out the format correctly.

    Thanks!

    Jason
Sign In or Register to comment.