Preset (or selectable) Area Feature OPtion

ALuomalaALuomala Global Mapper UserPosts: 4
edited March 2009 in Suggestion Box
Hi there. I am using GM to create terrains for VBS2, a Military Simulation, based on the video game ArmedAssault (ArmA). I have been using GM for some time now (I am a part-time Terrain Instructor for BIA, (Bohemia Interactive Australia) as well). One feature that I would like see added is a way to create Area Features by picking one point (SW corner, for example) and then setting a leg size (the idea is to create a square "frame" to extract all the relevant data). There are only really a small number of possible frame sizes (based on the ^2 rule, plus a cell size multiplier), so along the lines of 512m (square), 1024m, 5120m, 10240, etc. It is relatively simple for an experienced use to create a rough frame, and then adjust it by adjusting the vertices. One of the steps to creating this is using a template/worksheet, figuring out the rough size/area, then starting with the SW corner, adding the leg length (eg 10240m) to that, and then going around clockwise.

Here is the example that is shown in the Terrain Manual (I know that it might seem obvious, but sometimes a picture is worth.....)
tm16_gm_createframe.png