Geocoding from TIGER 2007

RalphieRalphie Global Mapper UserPosts: 6
edited November 2008 in Technical Support
I'm trying to batch geocode in GM 10 from a delimited ASCII file of addresses. The format is simple: ID, Address, City, State, Zip. Tab delimited, column names in first row.

If I geocode from an online server, I get no match on fractional street numbers like 177 1/2 Maple Dr. Otherwise I get a nice high hit rate. Drawbacks are speed and the fact that I have 94,000 addresses to geocode, so a limit of 5000 or so a day is kind of a drag.

So I downloaded the TIGER 2007 shapefile (and address range relation file) for my county, queried out all the records that have ROADFLG set to "Y", and saved them to a separate workspace.

No match at all on any of the addresses in my file. The only obvious issue is that in my ASCII file, the addresses are all upper case. In the TIGER data, the street names are in title case (Leading caps). Is the GM geocoding engine case sensitive?

Is there something else I should know? The documentation on geocoding is pretty sparse.

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2008
    Can you provide me with a couple of lines of your input that don't match and let me know what county to get for Tiger, then I can give it a try? I think I know what the problem is, but it is always good to have test data.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • RalphieRalphie Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited November 2008
    Id address city state zip
    2370076 2966 a 1/4 rd grand junction co 81503
    600061331 2769 b rd grand junction co 81503
    2287301 3076 s highway 50 grand junction co 81503
    2286229 135 burns dr grand junction co 81503
    2279077 188 rosalie dr grand junction co 81503
    2287012 2977 meeker st grand junction co 81503
    2280653 147 redrock rd grand junction co 81503
    2272708 183 brentwood dr grand junction co 81503
    2290847 135 burns dr grand junction co 81503
    2272923 192 lumley dr grand junction co 81503
    2272924 192 lumley dr grand junction co 81503
    2253552 2869 rainbow dr grand junction co 81503
    2263729 189 rosalie dr grand junction co 81503
    2253960 164 29 rd grand junction co 81503
    2255333 2979 craig st grand junction co 81503
    2263986 3026 s highway 50 grand junction co 81503
    2277271 3025 s highway 50 spc 9 grand junction co 81503
    2260421 126 29 rd grand junction co 81503
    2344759 183 thompson rd grand junction co 81503
    2346357 174 shamrock dr grand junction co 81503
    2338476 172 rainbow dr grand junction co 81503
    2372576 2831 b rd grand junction co 81503
    2343757 196 1/2 glory view dr grand junction co 81503
  • RalphieRalphie Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited November 2008
    So I will just attach a file

    By the way, the TIGER data is Mesa County (County code 077) Colorado (State code 08)

    I am using the edge file and the addr relation file.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2008
    I took a look and found that addresses weren't being properly parsed when the address number and street name were in the same field. Once I fixed that your data geo-coded nicely. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper10.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v10.xx installation folder to give it a try.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • RalphieRalphie Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited November 2008
    Works great, thanks for the fix. Not to mention how quickly you solved the problem.

    Still fails on fractional house numbers, unfortunately (e.g. 177 1/2) . I guess that would be a feature request.

    By the way, I have the data standardized (number, number suffix, street direction, street name, street type, street suffix as separate fields in the main database) and could have created the address file to separate the numbers. The docs might need to be touched up, as might the dialog box for batch geocoding, as none of the formats mention separating the street number.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited November 2008
    I have added support for ignoring fractional parts of an address number. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper10.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v10.xx installation folder to give it a try.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • RalphieRalphie Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited November 2008
    Thanks again, and thanks again for the quick turnaround.

    Interestingly enough, that's what I would have done manually--built a new address file without the fractional part of the address.
Sign In or Register to comment.