GM_DrawGridLines problem

hostdodsonhostdodson Global Mapper UserPosts: 4
edited October 2008 in SDK
Hi

when I use GM_DrawGridLines it renders the line on a thicker black background line.
In the attached render I used LineFeatureClass_t16.LFC_GRID_LINE
With a GM_LineStyle_t width of 1 and a color set to red.

Can you help with removing the thicker black background line.

Many Thanks

Hostdodson

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2008
    What does your underlying map look like with no grid lines drawn? It looks to me like the extra black line may be from the underlying map.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • hostdodsonhostdodson Global Mapper User Posts: 4
    edited October 2008
    Hi Mike

    Thanks for the prompt response.

    The black line is not part of any background or data.
    It appears when the grid is turned on and disappears when the grid is turned off (via a UI check box).
    Ive tried it with just a single vector elevation data layer with the same result.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2008
    Can you check the drawing styles of the LFC_GRID_LINE_MINOR and LFC_GRID_LINE_MAJOR line types? Those will be drawn with grid lines as well. Different types of grid lines use different styles.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • hostdodsonhostdodson Global Mapper User Posts: 4
    edited October 2008
    Hi Mike

    I've tried various combinations of LFC_GRID_LINE, LFC_GRID_LINE_MAJOR, LFC_GRID_LINE_MINOR with the same and different GM_LineStyle_t but the black "shadow" persists.
    The shadow is of fixed width as when I increase mPenWidth to 5 the required line hides the shadow line.
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2008
    Can you send me your code where you setup the GM_LineStyle_t structure? I'm wondering if your line style is being setup as a solid line or a striped one.
  • hostdodsonhostdodson Global Mapper User Posts: 4
    edited October 2008
    Hi Mike

    Traced the problem to probable hardware display issue.
    On colleagues machine the grid draws OK.
    On mine it does not.
    Draws ok in the full GM9 and GM10 exes on my machine.
    I'm using the 1.28 SDK
    The likely problem display adapter on my Dell Latitude laptop is:
    "Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family (2x)"

    Ive been getting the GM_LineStyle_t via
    GetLineFeatureClassDrawStyle
    then editing width and color before calling
    SetLineFeatureClassDrawStyle

    I also get the shadow line if I don't do any grid line style editing but live with the defaults.

    When I've tried other pen styles these styles have been displayed correctly for the inner grid line, but the shadow line still shows.

    Thanks for your help
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited October 2008
    You might try getting an updated video driver and see if that makes any difference.
Sign In or Register to comment.