Losing point symbols when reopening previous files

chuckchuck Global Mapper UserPosts: 82Trusted User
edited October 2014 in Technical Support
Folks:

I am losing my specified point symbols when I re-open projects I have worked in. Not too sure what is going on but it is frustrating having to back track and re-do the symbols...

Global Mapper v15.2.3 (b060214) [64-bit] [+GEM] - REGISTERED

What happens is I have a custom set of point symbols and default symbols. I specify which symbols I want to use and make my maps; however, these attributes are lost when I close and re-open the project.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peace,

-Chuck

Comments

  • samknightsamknight BMG Staff Posts: 88
    edited August 2014
    Hi Chuck,
    When you say close and re-open the project, are you saving the workspace, or exporting data files and reopening? If you could give me a little more detail on your process and the formats being used, I'm sure we can get you pointed in the right direction.
    Regards,
    Sam Knight
    Director of Product Management
    Blue Marble Geographics
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Hi Sam:

    Yes, I am saving my work before closing and exiting the program. I do usually print my work as pdf files for distribution, and on occasion I will export. The exports and pdf files behave nicely. This issue only occurs when I re-start GM and re-open the project which is using the point symbols.

    Thanks,

    -Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Sam:

    I want to add that I see an extensive set of point symbols that begin with the words, "FROM TYPE:...," which I have not yet seen over the years I have been using GM.

    -Chuck
  • DMcKittrickDMcKittrick Global Mapper Trainer Posts: 58Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Chuck,

    It appears that something is happening with the contents of your CustomSymbols folder. From the Help menu, choose About Global Mapper and note the User Data Folder location at the bottom of the window. Browse to the location of this folder and open the CustomSymbols folder. You should see the graphic files that you used to create your symbols along with a custom_symbols.txt file that lists all of the custom symbols. Let us know if this list does not include the symbols that you previously assigned to your points.

    To clarify, are you creating custom Feature Types in the Point Styles tab in the Configuration dialog box, or are you manually assigning the symbols in the Modify Feature Info dialog box as each is created?

    David McKittrick
    Senior Applications Specialist
    Blue Marble Geographics
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Hi David:

    I will check the path today sometime and get back with you on what it is that I find. To clarify, I am using custom point symbols I have previously made. The symbols I am using were also provided to GM and they are now included in the preloaded point symbol library...Mike had these added to the new release at the time. I am doing both actions - creating custom features and using the point symbols in the application as well as modifying. The current work around is to modify each symbol by selecting or going to the type of point symbol and modifying the default symbol in settings. In either case, when I return to the project at later times (re-opening after saving) the modified default settings are lost and the custom symbol changes are lost.

    I will follow up by this afternoon with what I learn.

    -Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    David:

    I can navigate to the folder quite easily. I did notice multiple occurrences of the same symbol. I also see a number followed by an underscore that seems to be labeling groups of symbols. What is the number used for? Also, can I work directly in this folder to remove multiple occurrences of the same symbol (they do have different names as a result of the numbers seen in front). Examples:

    1_Oil and Gas Red Shut In 20121808 CDH
    and,
    2_Oil and Gas Red Shut In 20121808 CDH

    Should these be removed or will problems arise by my doing so>

    Thanks again.

    -Chuck
  • Josie_BMGJosie_BMG Global Mapper User Posts: 71
    edited August 2014
    Hi Chuck,
    I have just read through this thread. It is my understanding that you are setting a particular symbol to a point type and then that is was is not being remembered when you close GM. Is that right? Are they reverting back to the default settings?

    What version of the software are you using? I have heard that there was a bug that caused extra copies of the point symbols to be created back prior to 15.1.1, a new build of v15 was released last week, v15.2.8. You can download it here from the website:
    Global Mapper Downloads

    You can delete the extra symbols in the Custom Symbols folder and then make sure you have the latest build of Global Mapper, then the duplicate point symbol issue should be fine. Do you want to upgrade and check to see if your original point symbol problem is solved by updating the application?

    Regards,
    Josie
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Thanks, Josie...I will download and install.

    -Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited September 2014
    Now I have lost all point symbols when I re-open the project. I can see my custom symbols in the folder location and I can no longer see my custom symbols in the add remove dialog box. The names are present - however, the symbols is now only a black dot. BTW - A black dot is the only symbol that shows up for all oil & Gas points in the project.

    Do I need to re-install all the symbols?

    -Chuck
  • Jasmine_BMGJasmine_BMG BMG Staff Posts: 174
    edited September 2014
    Hello Chuck,

    I was able to recreate this issue and logged it yesterday. Mike has issued a fix so that now the symbols should display properly.

    New builds with the latest changes have been placed at the links below:

    32-bit: http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/downloads/global-mapper/global_mapper15.zip
    64-bit: http://www.bluemarblegeo.com/downloads/global-mapper/global_mapper15_64bit.zip

    Please download the .zip file for the build that you are using and extract over your existing installation files. The likely locations to extract to are as follows:

    32-bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\GlobalMapper15
    64-bit: C:\Program Files\GlobalMapper15_64bit

    Regards,

    Jasmine
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited September 2014
    Thanks, Jasmine...I will download and extract and open to see.

    Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited September 2014
    Jasmine:

    I have done as instructed and I still have a problem. When the program first opens up I get an error window popping up that indicates point size is too small (0,0) and all spots do not appear correctly.

    I will double check and see to make sure all zipped files have been copied and placed where instructed.

    Thanks again.

    -Chuck
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited September 2014
    Jasmine:

    Still getting the same error and results. I have copied and pasted a screenshot of the error message.

    GM Error 4-Sep-2014 CDH.png

    -Chuck
  • DMcKittrickDMcKittrick Global Mapper Trainer Posts: 58Trusted User
    edited September 2014
    To clarify, does the error message you are seeing appear when you launch Global Mapper or when you try to load a workspace? If you click the OK button does the software run as normal. If so, Open the Configuration dialog box and choose the Point Styles tab and verify that your custom point types appear as they should. If not, reassign the correct symbols and let us know if the problem persists.

    - David McKittrick
    Senior Applications Specialist
    Blue Marble Geographics
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2014
    Big Stinky Issue that continues on up to GM v16. Please call or email. This is a major bug and difference in how something is handled from GM v14 to GM v15. The solution suggested is not a solution when I am working with thousands of points...I am very tired fighting this issue.

    It may be of big assistance to remotely view what is going on.

    Thank you I advance.

    -Chuck
  • Jasmine_BMGJasmine_BMG BMG Staff Posts: 174
    edited October 2014
    Hi Chuck,

    We provide support on the forums as we can, but to arrange for a support call or remote session with Blue Marble Application Support, or to follow up on a specific issue you are experiencing, I recommend contacting Blue Marble directly at geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com. The forums are helpful, because they are public and information may be shared and searched.

    However, from a logistical standpoint we are better able to assess application support volumes, provide individualized assistance and track issues endemic to specific version releases when customers contact us directly.

    Regards,

    Jasmine
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2014
    Will do...
  • chuckchuck Global Mapper User Posts: 82Trusted User
    edited October 2014
    Hi Jasmine...email was kicked back as undeliverable, work file attachment is 3 MB and mail failure is shown below:


    The following addresses had permanent fatal errors
    <geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com>
    (reason: 452 insufficient system storage)


    Transcript of session follows
    ... while talking to mail.bluemarblegeo.com.:
    >>> RCPT To:<geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com>
    <<< 452 insufficient system storage
    <geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com>... Deferred: 452 insufficient system storage
    451 4.4.1 reply: read error from mail.bluemarblegeo.com.
    Message could not be delivered for 1 day Message will be deleted from queue
Sign In or Register to comment.