Issues with a particular DXF file

Hunter GeophysicsHunter Geophysics Global Mapper UserPosts: 75Trusted User
edited August 2014 in Technical Support
A1 grid only.gmptrack.zip

Hi Mike, and others. :)

Having quite a bit of trouble with a DXF file and was hoping you'd be able to help, please.

I have attached two files:

A GMP file, with a single area.
A DXF file, which should contain a few dozen parallel lines (can't remember how many). The lines should be running roughly NNE-SSW, and should be roughly within the area in the GMP file.

I've never used CAD before so don't know what projection/datum it should be in.

The supplier says it should be in the same projection and datum as my GMP data, but selecting that makes it project some 12,000km to the south of the area in the GMP.

I would appreciate your help in trying to figure out how to get this to project properly, please.

Thank you in advance for your help, as always. :)

Dave

Comments

• Hunter GeophysicsHunter Geophysics Global Mapper User Posts: 75Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    By the way, the parallel lines should be about 25cm apart.

Here's a screenshot from the program that created the DXF, showing the lines (I also note the coordinates seem to be in some other system...?)

Snap 2014-08-12 at 21.55.36.png
  • Josie_BMGJosie_BMG Global Mapper User Posts: 71
    edited August 2014
    Hi Hunter Geophysics, I have looked at the vertices of the line features in the DXF file, since the vertices are located very close to the point of origin, it does not appear that this data is projected. You will need to either go back to the data source or manually rectify the lines to a known location.

Let me know if you get any more information from the source of the data or if you have any further questions.

Regards,
    Josie
  • Hunter GeophysicsHunter Geophysics Global Mapper User Posts: 75Trusted User
    edited August 2014
    Hi Josie,

Thanks for that advice; I appreciate it.