tree canopy density

ChrisHChrisH Global Mapper UserPosts: 6
edited July 2014 in Technical Support
I'm attempting to run a view shed analysis of a building

The view shed runs fine, however where the building is located, it is heavily wooded. So we know for a fact that some of the areas the view shed says is "visible" is in fact not. Typically, there are no shapefiles for tree canopy in this region.

I began making my own generalized shapefile of tree canopy and setting an average elevation of the tree height at 40ft relative to ground. Works perfectly atop my DEMs of the region. However, about .0493 seconds into doing this I realized that I need to account for density and seasonal changes (ie no leaves in the winter).

I'm completely new to Global Mapper, so my knowledge is very limited with the program, and I don't know how to script. I was thinking about using the Density Grid, but again this area is very heavily wooded. I estimate there to be around 50,000 trees in this area covered by the viewshed, and I feel that would be far to time consuming and counter-productive clicking a point for each tree. I don't need the tree canopy/density to be 100% accurate but relatively close.

Would you suggest that's the best route? Any help would be appreciated. There is probably an easier solution that I'm just not seeing at the moment which is why I'm posting

Comments

• global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited July 2014
    For wooded areas you definitely want to create an area feature with a height relative to ground as you are doing. It is far too difficult to create a bunch of points for individual trees, although we do have tools for creating point features randomly distributed inside selected areas.