ASTER GDEM elevation data with Google Maps Satelite Images

richardsrichards Global Mapper UserPosts: 5
edited June 2014 in Projection Questions
Hi there,

i am very new to GIS and Global Mapper.
I just would like to combine and perfectly align elevation data from ASTER GDEM V2 (this should be in UTM / WGS84) with satelite imagery from Google maps (that should be in (pseudo) Mercator projetions based on a sphere.

I downloaded 1 tile of Aster gdem (N54 E013 - island of Ruegen, Germany) and the appropriate part with ultimate maps downloader from Google Maps in Zoomlevel 13 or 14.

What is the best way to align both maps and get a perfect fit all over the map?

Do I have to reproject both part to another projetion / datum or would I just reproject one of them?
I tried to get the googlemap image to UTM / WGS84 but i never get a perfect fit.
I tried it the other way round but no perfect fit.

Do i misinterpret the initial native projection of one of the two?
Is there something wrong with the process?

I start with importing the Aster DEM and assume the whole project is set to the native projection as included in the Geotiff of the DEM, right? Then it should be enough just to reproject the satelite image?

Thanks for any hints!:)

Comments

• global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited June 2014
    The ASTER GDEM data should load in with its proper projection to start with, then when you load an image from Google Maps use Mercator with the 'Google Maps' datum to get the special system used by Google Maps and many other online sources.

I would also try using the File->Download Online Imagery/Data menu command to pull down some other imagery sources.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Guru
    geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com
    Blue Marble Geographics for Coordinate Conversion, Image Reprojection and Vector Translation
  • richardsrichards Global Mapper User Posts: 5
    edited June 2014
    Thanks Mike, for your quick answer.