Global Mapper 15
    Vik
    Global Mapper User

Default Trouble importing NAIP imagery data

My site has a registered version of GlobalMapperv12, and I'm new to the product. What I'm trying to do is import NAIP data into GlobalMapper for conversion into a format that an in-house application can make use of. However, I'm having a bit of trouble with the first step of importing the raw NAIP data into Global Mapper.

I go to the "File" pulldown menu, and from there selected "open data file(s)". I have many files in my directory but the only ones visible under the default "support commonly used" mask are my .sid files and .shp files. The .shp files can be opened without error, but when I try to open the .sid ones I get the following error:

"Unknown error while rendering overlays, you should probably save and quit.
    mrsid format error [2005]"

Then it prints out the path to the filename I'm trying to open, a series of seemingly random numbers, and then a sourcecode filename and line number: MrSIDOVerlay.cpp - 550. It gives my version number as v12.02 and a Build time of May 12 2011 00:52:07

That's pretty much it for the error message. I have NAIP data for multiple counties in Nevada (Douglas, Lander, and Lyon) downloaded, and I'm getting the same error for all of them. If it helps, the data is from the ftp link on this website: http://keck.library.unr.edu/Data/NAIP

The aforementioned ftp site is ftp://dataworks.library.unr.edu/naip/2010/County and I'm pulling the data down through there over filezilla. I had tried to fetch the NAIP data from seamless, but the stingy max download queue on the site kept me from choosing that as my primary source for the data.

Any help would be appreciated. I've been in industry for some years, but GIS, terrain imagery, etc. is a completely new domain for me, so it is quite probable I am making some very basic errors.

Thanks,
    Vik

Administrator

Vik,