Manipulate Overlay Control Centre and Contents on screen

matthew_collingsukmatthew_collingsuk Global Mapper UserPosts: 9
edited August 2011 in Suggestion Box
Hi

I was wondering if would be possible to add a function whereby you can export the contents of the Overlay Control Centre to a text file, preferably a CSV file. The reason I ask this is that one of the tasks in my job involves me loading ASRP and turning off layers outside my area of interest and then writing down what is left. This is currently done by eye and the use of a CSV file to access the Overlay Control Centre would speed the process up greatly.

I was also wondering if it was possible to add a function whereby you can draw a vector polygon on a map and turn off all layers that are outside its limits. This would speed the process up further and would be very helpful.

Regards

Matt

Comments

  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited August 2011
    Matt,

    What exactly would the CSV file contain? Perhaps a CSV of filenames, layer names, and other information like bounding box?

    It should also be possible if you have a selected area to hide any layers that don't intersect that polygon. I will look at adding a function for that.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited August 2011
    Matt,

    I have added a right-click option to the Control Center to allow hiding all of those layers that don't intersect any of the selected area features. This is a new v13 feature, but if you have the current beta you can get a new build to try the feature. I have placed a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13.zip with the change for you to try. Simply download that file and extract the contents into your existing v13.xx installation folder to give it a try. If you are using the 64-bit v13 version there is a new build at http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_64bit.zip .

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • matthew_collingsukmatthew_collingsuk Global Mapper User Posts: 9
    edited August 2011
    Mike

    Really sorry for not replying yesterday, that is great and I will give it a go later on today

    As for the csv file you have described what I was thinking. I mainly want to access the layer name however the rest of the info would be really useful too for logging purposes.

    Many thanks

    Matt
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited August 2011
    Matt,

    Just had a thought on exporting the Control Center contents, just select all layers (press Ctrl+A), then right-click in the Control Center and select to create bounding box areas from the selected layers. Then, use the Search->Search by Attributes menu command to get a list of all those areas that were just created, then select all of those and right-click on the results and copy them to the clipboard, then paste that in Notepad or something. Should give you a nice CSV file with attributes including the filename and bounds.

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • matthew_collingsukmatthew_collingsuk Global Mapper User Posts: 9
    edited August 2011
    Mike

    I have just tested the zip file above. That is the exact way that I was thinking for my task. Thank you very much. I am just going to test the text file method you have described and will get back to you in a bit.

    Thanks again :-)

    Matt
  • matthew_collingsukmatthew_collingsuk Global Mapper User Posts: 9
    edited August 2011
    Mike

    Have tried the text method you laid out above and that also worked.

    Thank you very much, you are going to make me very popular in the office on Monday :-)

    Matt
  • ladkinsladkins Global Mapper User Posts: 6
    edited August 2011
    I currently have Global Mapper V12.02. I received an error trying to install http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_64bit.zip. The error says that lti_dsdk.dll is missing from my computer. Any ideas?
  • global_mapperglobal_mapper Administrator Posts: 17,238
    edited August 2011
    To run the v13 beta you will need to run a full v13 installer from one of the links below:

    32-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_setup.exe
    64-bit: http://www.globalmapper.com/global_mapper13_setup_64bit.exe

    Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
Sign In or Register to comment.