Global Mapper v25.0

New User: Contour Layers, Graticule tick marks, and export questions

jmiller8031
jmiller8031 Global Mapper User
edited July 2011 in Technical Support
Hi new user here. I've searched around but haven't found any answers for my particular questions. Please note that I'm in no way a cartographer, I'm a graphic designer rather, so I guess you could say I'm really, really new.

My company bought Global Mapper because it allows us to general contour lines quickly. Before we were tracing lines manually. I was hoping that there might be a way to get Global Mapper to automatically create layers for each contour interval. I need to generate contours for various maps in 500 foot intervals, but I need to keep track of each specific interval for color assignment in Adobe Illustrator. Is there a way to do such a thing?

We were also hoping to use the grid feature to generate a graticule that looked a specific way. We want the main grid to be spaced a 30 minute intervals, while every 10 minutes has a specific tick mark, every 5 minutes also has a smaller tick mark, and finally every minute has the smallest tick mark. Is this possible?

Finally, I would really like to export a single vector format PDF but the paper size options do not go large enough in Global Mapper. Our charts are 42 x 60 inches. This highest export option I see is Arch E3 size. This forces me to export "chunks" of contour lines and having to manually line up and attach them together in Illustrator. Is there a work around for this?

Thanks.

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited July 2011
    What you can do for the layering is create all of your contour lines, then right-click on the layer in the Control Center and select to split into separate layers based on description/attribute value, then split based on the display label.