Global Mapper v25.0

3 D Imaging

Greg Hardin
Greg Hardin Global Mapper User
edited September 2010 in Elevation Data
I am new to this product, have lots to learn! One issue I am really puzzled with is that I want to see a hill-side in the Pittsburg area in 3-D as I want to overlay a plotting for a pipeline which will run from a water main beside the road, over several hills and down to a waiting resevoir. When I click on the 3-D view...I get nothing...at all. Help?!

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited September 2010
    What version of Global Mapper are you using? Do you already have the hill in Pittsburgh loaded as a terrain layer?

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Greg Hardin
    edited September 2010
    I am using version 11.2. Yes, I have the hillside copied from google earth.
  • global_mapper
    edited September 2010
    How did you copy it from Google Earth? Are you sure it's a terrain layer and not just a picture? Note that you can pull in terrain for any area in the US using the NED layer on the File->Download ONline Terrain/Data menu command in Global Mapper. That will definitely be terrain data.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Greg Hardin
    edited September 2010
    Alright, as you suggested, I used the File->Download ONline Terrain/Data menu command adn selected NAIP Color Imagery for US (1m Resolution). That loaded sucessfully ... still no luck at the 3-D viewing.
  • global_mapper
    edited September 2010
    You need to load terrain data. The NAIP imagery is just an image, it doesn't contain terrain. Try loading the NED terrain data, it will give you a 3D surface.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • Greg Hardin
    edited September 2010
    Mike;