Global Mapper v25.0

Editing Elevation data

mapping
mapping Global Mapper User
edited September 2010 in Elevation Data
Hi,

I am new to GIS, I am wondering can GM perform the following actions, if possible, please kindly guide me along.

# I am using DTED file format, currently when I export the DTED file, it generated 12 files, is there a way to configure such that it can export to 1 DTED file?

# I need to modify the DTED information, i.e. I need to change the mountains to oceans. I am wondering how can I highlight the irregular shape and change the area to oceans.

Kindly please help.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited August 2010
    The DTED format specification only allows for DTED files to be generated along particular boundaries, so whatever bounding box and DTED level that you specify for export determines the files that are created. It is not possible to create DTED files along arbitrary boundaries.

To change the elevation values of an area, you can create an area feature with the Digitizer Tool over the area of interest and provide an ELEVATION attribute with the new desired elevation, then select that area, right-click, then select the Advanced Feature Creation option to Create/Flatten Terrain from the area. This will create a new terrain surface from the area using it's elevation that will then combine with other terrain layers on export.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • mapping
    mapping Global Mapper User
    edited September 2010
    Thanks for the information...