Global Mapper v25.0

New Questions

global_noobie
global_noobie Global Mapper UserTrusted User
edited July 2010 in Elevation Data
I'm not a GIS expert and I don't want or need to be as my involvement in this side of things is simply getting data in DEM format and exporting it.

However, I do have some direct questions and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction so I can learn what I need to know without being bogged down with a ton of stuff that comes with it.

1) I would like to edit some existing DEM data I imported into GM. Its of a coastal region and there are some jagged lines where I assume the points are being centralised to a vertice, or whatever lingo you would use, so I need some king of drawing mode when I can smooth out these areas.

I did look at the tut page and while the main one claimed to address it there, it seemed quite complicated. I was hoping for some kind of pen tool to make it nice and easy.

2)How difficult is it to make a DEM from a photo, and how would the accuracy of the data compare to some height data or say 5 to 10 meter intervals?
Is it just not worth doing by hand?

The software has been working great for exporting DEM's, but like I said, I think/hope it would be easier for me to edit the imperfection of the DEM at a 2D level than playing around with the 3D mesh.

If someone can help, or give me some links/directions to this area I would be grateful, I'm not lazy, I just sense this is an area with many different ways of doing the same thing and I would just like to know the global mapper way so I can do my very specific task.

Thanks for any help, will keep checking back over next few days.

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited July 2010