Global Mapper v25.0

Project of a GIS application using GM sdk

diofantis
diofantis Global Mapper UserTrusted User
edited October 2009 in SDK
Hello all,
in the near future my company may assign me to develop a GIS application.
My proposal was to use the GM sdk (in VB.net 2005 or in the worst case for me in C#) for such development, since it is the only sdk that i have "played" in the past.

The description of the application is pretty simple i believe and should support atleast the following functionality:
- support of S57/SRTM/satelite maps
- standard map functions, such as zoom in/out, pan
- measuring tool (azimuth,range) between two points
- connection with GPS, in order to display the position
- connection with other devices such as AIS and/or Radar.

Since i am new to this kind of development, i would like to ask for your assistance/help in order to help me create the most proper design and finally the correct/professional implementation.

Who knows, this might end up as a guideline for GM sdk.

Thanks in advance,
and i hope for the participation not only of the administrator but from other users with experience of such developments.

Comments

• diofantis
    diofantis Global Mapper User Trusted User
    edited October 2009
    Starting from the design and having as a reference the GM application and as a goal the low CPU load:

1. Does GM application uses a backbuffer and then a bitblit function in order to perform the zoom in/out, pan, etc actions?

2. Does GM application uses directly the form as the map final drawing area or a picture box component? Do you think that there are some advantages in case you use one or the other?

3. In case a GPS is connected and the application is placed on a platform (car/ship) that it moves, then how the flow goes? The GPS is updating the position with x Hz, (i.e. with 1 Hz). In that scenario the map is refreshed with 1 Hz?