Global Mapper v25.0

Creation of VFR charts for flight simulation

marc_eddn
marc_eddn Global Mapper User
edited February 2009 in How I use Global Mapper
Hello everyone,

I have some experience with TTQV, which is a nice tool for viewing existing maps, tracking, and also scanning and calibrating paper maps. Unfortunately, I found it unsuitable for processing professional raster and vector maps freely available on the internet.

So I have just bought GM to create some kind of VFR chart for flight simulation from freely available sources.
Currently, I center on Australia, and I already made some progress merging Australian Topo 250K maps with data coming from Flight Simulator X (Airport code, -name). I will add navigational aids (VOR/DME) to that and maybe improve the elevation info to something more visible. Target is creating moving maps that can be used while flying, for which I will need to export the vector/raster data to JPG in overlapping tiles.

So far, it looks like I can get what I want from GM. The greatest challenge will be to export the tiles, as the map is not rectangular in shape. Current Idea is to export a rectangular map and throw away the tiles I don't need to keep sizes small. Anyway, this forum seems to be the perfect place to learn about Global Mapper. And it's fun, too!

Best regards

Marc

Comments

• PaulTocknell
    PaulTocknell Forum Administrator Unconfirmed
    edited June 2008
    As a pilot, I am very interested to see what you can do with this! Would mind sending or posting a sample? I'd love to see it.

I've played around a little with draping sectional charts on elevation data but haven't experimented with bringing this into Flight Sim X. Maybe I should try. We should try and combine some effort here.
  • PaulTocknell
    PaulTocknell Forum Administrator Unconfirmed
    edited June 2008
    Can you point me toward a tutorial for importing and creating maps for Flight Sim X?
  • marc_eddn
    edited June 2008