How to remove extra "noise" from LiDAR?

SwoodySwoody Global Mapper UserPosts: 97Trusted User
I've got all extra stuff (noise?) in the sky of my LiDAR file.  Any suggestions of how to remove it / clean it up?? 

Also, never really sure the best place to put LIDAR questions, since there is not a specific topic for them. I guess Vector data works??

Thanks!! 
Sara

Tagged:

Answers

• bmg_bobbmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer Posts: 1,686
    Hello Sara,

Have you tried the Auto-classify Noise Points function on the Lidar toolbar?

Cheers,

Bob
  • SwoodySwoody Global Mapper User Posts: 97Trusted User
    Thanks Bob. I have never tried it before. Thus far Auto-classify Noise Points crashes my PC every time, which is a pretty powerful beast. Even tried it in small sections, but no luck. Most times it just crashes, but one time got this message: "Runtime Error! R6025 - pure virtual function call"  Aargh. 

I am using the latest build of 17.1  (April 19 build)
  • bmg_bobbmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer Posts: 1,686
    Swoody said:
    Thanks Bob. I have never tried it before. Thus far Auto-classify Noise Points crashes my PC every time, which is a pretty powerful beast. Even tried it in small sections, but no luck. Most times it just crashes, but one time got this message: "Runtime Error! R6025 - pure virtual function call"  Aargh. 

Have you reported this to Blue Marble Geographics Support (geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com)?

Cheers,

Bob
    Going to do more testing, then report. It may not just be able to handle the size of the file. I'm able to get a smaller file to not crash. Thanks Bob!
    edited May 2016